S3E04 – Wag the Tongue Slowly

Hear us now, oh thou bleak and unbearable world! Robin and Steph talk about the Yogurtopium murder mystery, Gossip Girl Liv, Major tilting at windmills and, of course, Blayton…

And so much feedback! Thanks for listening and interacting with the podcast!

Our website: iZombiePodcast.com
Email: iZombiePodcast@gmail.com
Twitter: @iZombiePodcast
Like us: facebook.com/iZombiePodcast
Join our discussion group: facebook.com/groups/iZombiePodcast

Download

One thought on “S3E04 – Wag the Tongue Slowly

  1. Hi guys,

    Chiming in late again. Wag the Tongue Slowly showed up on Netflix on Sunday as usual, but between Memorial Day and Independence Day I didn’t have a chance to see it until Tuesday night. Yeah, I know.

    I don’t have too much to say about the episode, since you guys covered it pretty well, but there was one throwaway line that you didn’t mention that deserves some extra focus. The guy at the gun range mentions offhandedly that he’s part of the “Sovereign Citizens Movement” – which was to me one of the funniest lines in the episode.

    Sovereign Citizens are people who believe that every individual person is somehow the ruler of their own country, consisting entirely of themselves. They often refuse to pay taxes or get drivers’ licenses (or use ZIP codes for some reason), and offer some truly bizarre arguments when they are dragged into court. For example:

    * Flags in American courtrooms have golden tassels on them, which show that they’re a maritime flag rather than an American flag, which means the court is applying maritime law. Since I’ve never been on a boat, this court has no authority over me!

    * My name is spelled using capital and lowercase letters. But my birth certificate spells it with all capital letters. Since the government recognizes me based on my birth certificate, any government documents with my name in it – like court orders, or tax bills – are actually about this mysterious somebody else whose name is spelled with all capital letters but is totally not me.

    * I don’t have to pay taxes on my income, because I don’t actually make any income. What I’m doing is exchanging services for money. Since the service is equal in value to the money I receive for it, I’m not actually making anything, so why should I pay taxes on it?

    * In 1953, it was discovered that Congress had never officially declared Ohio a state when it joined the Union in 1803, so they passed a bill to retroactively fix this. So the Sixteenth Amendment, which establishes a federal income tax, was never really ratified, because one of the 40 states that ratified it was fake!

    * The Constitution gives Congress the power to “coin money”. So if I get paid in bills, or in a check, or in a direct bank transfer, then that doesn’t count as money, so you can’t tax it.

    These crazies aren’t limited to the US; they have them in Scotland and various other places in Europe too.

    The always hilarious http://www.loweringthebar.net makes fun of the sovereign citizens pretty often; search around there if you want to read more about it. I particularly recommend http://loweringthebar.net/2015/04/tax-arguments-not-to-make.html.

    Like

Leave a Reply

